For fully funded scholarship opportunities; follow our Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, Telegram and Twitter pages.

Afro-Asiatisches Institut Salzburg grants scholarships to students from developing countries

Applications for Scholarships, The AAI Salzburg grants scholarships to students from developing countries.


Interlanguage News from Austria

Applications for Scholarships
The AAI Salzburg grants scholarships to students from developing countries.

  • nationality of a non-European developing country (country list)
  • admission to a Master or PhD programme at a university or university of applied sciences in Salzburg or Tyrol (Uni Salzburg, Uni Innsbruck, FH Salzburg, MCI, FH Kufstein)
  • for PhD students: approved disposition
  • age limit: Master studies max. 30 years (mothers: 35 years), PhD studies max. 35 years (mothers: 40 years) at the time of application
  • residence permit “student”
  • studies at private universities
  • postgraduate study programmes ("Lehrgänge", e.g. "Universitätslehrgang" or "Fachhochschullehrgang") or other non-degree certificate programmes
  • applicants  with a residence title other than “student”
  • non-degree programme students („außerordentliche Studierende“)
  • short term visits and exchange programmes
  • Financial need
    We consider own income, savings, other means of support, profession and income of parents in order to select students who would hardly be able to successfully finish their studies without financial support.
  • Evidence of good progress in studies
    Good study progress documented by transcript of records of current and past studies. In programmes without entry exams, students who have already completed at least one semester at an Austrian university have a distinctive advantage.
  • Interest in development and according specialisation in studies
    Prospective awardees are expected to show a strong interest in development related issues, which is supposed to be reflected in the choice of study fields, prior work experience, voluntary activities etc. 
    Possible fields of specialisation are poverty reduction, social justice, global migrations, gender equality, climate change, sustainable use of resources, food security, renewable energies, environmental protection, sustainable tourism, urbanisation, health, human rights, democratisation, good governance, fighting corruption, conflict prevention and resolution, international relations, intercultural dialogue. This list should provide applicants with an idea of relevant topics, it is, however, not exclusive.

    The scholarship will contribute to exercise the right to education for those critical and intellectual young people who encounter poor conditions in their home countries. These aspects still apply more strongly to women. Regarding applications from equally qualified individuals, priority is given to female students.
  • Please send your complete application documents by E-Mail or by using a free data transfer (wetransfer)
  • After your application has been reviewed, you will be invited for an online-interview (via skype, zoom or webex)
  • The decision is taken by the scholarship committee in mid August. You will be informed about the decision shortly after. 
Nationals of the following countries are eligible for a One World Scholarship (based on OECD DAC list of ODA recepients) Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Rep., Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Dem. Rep.), Congo (Rep.), Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia Fiji Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana Haiti, Honduras India, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran Jamaica, Jordan Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Dem. Rep.), Kyrgyz Rep. Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maledives, Mali, Morocco, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States), Mongolia, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines Rwanda Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sri Lanka, St. Helena, St. Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Grenadines, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu Uganda, Uzbekistan Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam Wallis and Futuna, West Bank and Gaza Strip Yemen Zambia, Zimbabwe

Source: Interlanguage News

Learn More
news scholarship university master austria austria scholarship PhD programme application non-European developing countries help study study abroad student interlanguage apply
For fully funded scholarship opportunities; follow our Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, Telegram and Twitter pages.